WELCOME! Thanks for stopping by today. We believe that women are the heart of the home. Uniquely created and positioned by God, no one can touch the heart of another like a woman. Together Melanie and Alisa offer inspiration and encouragement to women to pursue their potential, develop their creativity and embrace their place as the heart of the home.


Life Lines ~ The Language of Love

"The Language of Love"
(From Melanie's Life & Style topic, "Discover Your Design")
photo: the love of my life & me


How do you express your love? What speaks "love" to you?
Dr. Gary Chapman, author of The Five Love Languages, describes "five distinctive languages that people use to express love."

  • Words of Affirmation

  • Quality Time

  • Receiving Gifts

  • Acts of Service

  • Physical Touch

As I am typing, my husband is washing dishes; that speaks love to me! Washing dishes is in the category of Acts of Service. However, the primary way I love to be loved is through Words of Affirmation. So if my husband were telling me the things he appreciates about me while washing the dishes, I would be over the moon!

In relationships, especially with those who live under our own roof, it strengthens the "love-ship" when we recognize and purposefully speak the love language of our loved ones. Start with your spouse. Do you remember The Adams Family? Whenever Morticia spoke French to her adoring husband, Gomez, he could hardly contain his affection for her! He loved it when she spoke French.

Whether you are fluent in a foreign language or only remember, "Donde esta el bano?" from your high school Spanish class, you can be fluent in the love language of the love of your life.

Want to take a quick quiz to determine your love language? Follow the link here. But don't stop there. Ask your husband to take it, too. Then start speaking your love language and with practice you'll be fluent in no time. Ooo la la!

Interested in hosting a Life & Style conference? Go here for more details.

No comments: